California Lemon Law FAQ
Consumers who purchase automobiles with defects or nonconformities and present the vehicle for two or more repair efforts throughout the warranty period are protected under the California Lemon Law. It makes no difference if the car warranty has officially ended because flaws that were not properly repaired within the warranty period are never covered by the warranty.
In other words, the manufacturer cannot advise its dealer to do “band-aid” repairs during the warranty period and then wait until the warranty’s technical expiration by time or mileage—the guarantee will not expire until the defect or problem is resolved.
Because most cars do not repair themselves, in approximately 98 percent of situations, despite multiple repairs, the vehicle will almost certainly never be fixed.
You may have a lemon on your hands if you bought or leased a vehicle, motorbike, truck, SUV, or RV from a California dealership that fits this criteria. If you believe you have a lemon, you should always call Scott Law Group P.C. to discuss your case. Each instance is distinct and distinctive. Under California law, a “lemon” might be defined by a variety of factors. We’ve answered some of the most common questions about California’s Lemon Law below.
How Many Repair Attempts Does My Vehicle Need Before It Is Considered A Lemon?
A lemon, according to California’s Lemon Law (a portion of the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act), is any car that has been sent to an authorized dealership for repair at least two times for the same problem (unless no more than one repair is possible). Even if the vehicle is brought in for routine maintenance, such as an oil change, and the dealer issues a recall in the form of a “computer reflash” on, for example, a transmission, this is considered a “repair effort.” As a result, the consumer’s only responsibility is to submit it to the dealer.
Furthermore, the customer is not required to inform the dealer of any potential problems with the vehicle. Words like “my car makes an odd noise” or “it won’t shift right” will suffice.
There may be a positive legal presumption in your case if the car has less than 18,000 kilometers or is less than 18 months old. If these vehicles have been in the shop for a total of 30 days with 18 months and no more than 18,000 miles, the law presumes that the repair attempts thus far have been reasonable. In this scenario, the presumption that repair attempts are reasonable applies if you have brought the car in for two or more repair attempts for a safety concern and at least four tries for something that impacts usage or value. The lemon law still applies even if you don’t fulfill the presumption. Lemons are vehicles that have a lot of miles on them.
Is The Lemon Law In California Applicable to Used Cars?
Yes. Used and leased automobiles purchased while under manufacturer or dealer warranties are subject to the California Lemon Law. Warranty extensions may be required as a result of recalls or other safety concerns.
If you believe you have a lemon, we can assist you across the state. To schedule a free consultation and to discuss your case, call Scott Law Group P.C. of California at (619) 345-5599 or contact us online.
If you believe you have a lemon, please give the experts of Scott Law Group P.C. a call at (619) 345-5599 for a free California Lemon Law evaluation now.
If you need a professional lemon lawyer for your case, contact us right away!